We have had our digital TV over a year now and there are two great things that we didn’t expect about it.  We pick up two all-day cartoon channels.  For people who don’t have and do not intend to pay for cable, that’s exciting.  There is a second PBS channel that shows PBS cartoons all day, plus a Qubo channel.

Qubo is now on Saturday mornings on NBC as well.  Our kids love it.  And most of the cartoons promote good behavior/ethics.  I am going to rank for your benefit some of my favorites.

Tier 1–Some that I Like

Miss BG is probably the favorite of our kids.  It’s about a girl who is always getting in trouble.  She is much more real than say, Elizabeth from Clifford.  She has a little brother who has a pet gerbil who often sits on his head.

3-2-1 Penguins is a show that focuses on behavior.  And it’s very entertaining.   The characters are funny and the theme song is awesome.  They have great villains, such as the hamster thing that controls a giant metal robot.

Babar is fantastic! I never read the books or saw Babar cartoons growing up but it is such a peaceful cartoon with great characters. There are even two time periods represented, Babar as a child and Babar as adult (very Lost-like).

Marvin the Tap-Dancing Horse is great.  Maybe at the top of my list.  The characters are funny:  the grouchy tiger, the whiny, scared pig, and Marvin is a great lead.

I have rarely watched Turbo Dogs but love that someone was finally smart enough to combine two of my sons favorite things into one show.  The next best thing is Dinosaur Train (not sure which channel), which combines the two other favorite things of my son (and little boys everywhere).

Another favorite of mine is Jacob Two-Two.  Based in Canada (as many of the qubo shows seem to be, or of European origin: Rupert=British, Babar=french influence), it’s about a boy and his adventures.  The dad is great in that one.

Sitting Ducks is hilarious.  It’s about a duck and an Alligator who are best friends but live in Duck Town.

Rescue Heroes is pretty cool.  It’s kinda like G.I. Joe for natural disasters and teaches safety.  The only downside is that the characters have punny/cheesy names:  the fireman is Billy Blazes, the pilot is Ariel Flier, etc. Rocky Canyon

Another great show for teaching is Adventure from the Book of Virtues, which occasionally includes Bible stories along with fables and myths to teach morals

Tier 2–Haven’t really watched and am therefore Indifferent

Postman Pat

Elliot Moose

Gofrette

My Friend Rabbit has a great song, but after that, I am not interested.

Tier 3–Some I don’t like as Much

Zula Patrol is very educational, teaching about astronomy, but not as fun for adults.  On the boring side.

Pecola is about a cube-shaped penguin in a cube-shaped world.  The theme song always makes me think of the “I dream of Jeannie” theme song although my wife continually tries to explain the difference to me.

Rupert annoys me for some reason.  I can’t put my finger on it, but I don’t like the British bear living in an animal/human world.

So, what are your favorite Qubo cartoons?

About Brian

I am a follower of Jesus. I like to read, especially history and psychology. I like scary movies. I enjoy sports.

16 responses »

  1. James Jones says:

    Babar is GREAT. I watched it on HBO when I was a teenager. I did not care that it was aimed at kids, it was just, as you put it, peaceful. And, it was amusing.

  2. Lisa says:

    When is Turbo Dogs on? I’ve never managed to catch it. Derek claims it’s his favorite, but I’m not sure we’ve even seen it! Maybe, like Sam, just the fact that he thinks it would be really cool makes it his favorite.

    I felt the same way when we switched over to digital (without satellite or cable) and discovered we got Qubo. Yep, very cool. In our neck of the woods, however, we don’t get ABC without cable or satellite, so we miss out on some good shows (like your favorite!)

  3. Lisa says:

    Derek read your post along with me, and he wants to know how you feel about Jane and the Dragon.

  4. b says:

    james, we should start a babar fan club for preachers….or maybe not

    lis, not sure, saturday morning at some point, but also sunday afternoon. weekends only, though, I am pretty sure of that

    so do I qualify as a mommy-blogger for this?

  5. Lisa says:

    Yes, I think you do!! LOL. I was laughing that you were writing about kids’ shows – I don’t think I’ve seen another guy post something like that. :)

  6. b says:

    well, i did a pbs post awhile back that continues to draw people from searches, so I figured, why not?

  7. jel says:

    I would love the get Qubo channel, i do get to see some of the cartoons onNBC, MY fav are 3~2~1 Penguins,barbar, my friend rabbit, and
    Jane and the Drangon! ;)

  8. Trey Morgan says:

    Let me know when you start ranking SpongeBob episodes and I’ll be here with my two cents. :)

  9. Is 3-2-1 Penguins anything like the Penguins from Madagascar? That’s one of our favs. We also watch too much SpongeBob.

  10. jel says:

    3~2~1 Penguins are WAY better then the Penguins from Madagascar!!!!!! ;)

    I miss watching SpongBob , :? (patrick was my fav)

  11. Joel says:

    LOL, Sitting Ducks is funny! Probably funnier than Spongebob. :s :S

  12. SHAUNTA says:

    I LIKE JACOB TWO TWO’ TURBO DOGS(WHAT HAPPEN TO IT AIRING)’ PICOLA GREAT ESPECIALLY THE THEME SONG’ I LOVE BG’ JANE IN DRAGON IS WACK IT MAKES MY HEAD HURT. WOULD THEY AIR NEW EPISODES

  13. SHAUNTA says:

    MY KIDS LOVE PECOLA PIPPY LONGSTOCKING RESCUE HEROS ALFRED(I DONT). NOW I DID LOVE WHEN U ALL PLAYED LAMB CHOP

  14. Melissa says:

    I LOVE Jane and the Dragon! It sort of irriated me at first but after a few episodes it grew on me. Aside from that my kids also love Pearlie, Ms BG, Pecola, and Willa’s Wild Life :)

  15. Godpower says:

    i think qubo is doing great but it needs some new shows like dragon ballz at night
    and calls of the titanis in the afternoons it would be much better

  16. fatima says:

    i have a question, wat was the name of the tv show on qubo where these 2 kids a boy and a girl, get transported to a weird world with talking animals and they have to collect these orb looking things for the animal’s world to be “healthy” again??? im sorry for all the details i was obbsessed with it and wanna watch it XD

Leave a Reply

