As I pack up my library, I am getting to the point where I need to decide which books are more important.

And it’s a lot easier to purge the library when I have to decide if I am going to put it in a box or give it way it.

But I have been thinking about which books would be good to read in the interim.  Not necessarily books about transition, travel, and moving;  but what should I be reading?  What’s important right now?  I definitely don’t expect to have time to read all of them but these are at the top of my list.

Here are some I will probably keep in a backpack to have on hand for the next 2 months:

50 Psychology Classics:  This gives a synopsis of books from Sigmund Freud to Malcolm Gladwell. Had it in my Amazon cart until I saw it marked down at B&N.

Emotionally Healthy Spirituality:  Peter Scazzero combines Contemplative Spirituality and Mental Health.  He serves a church in Queens, wish I had a chance to visit.  His devotional book, “The Daily Office” is fantastic.  Get it!

Savoring God’s Word by Jan Johnson.  Already read it once.  Need to read it again slowly and do all the exercises.

No Cross, No Crown by William Penn.  Penn is the only founding father I truly respect from a spiritual perspective.  Devotional classic.

Repenting of Religion.  Gregory Boyd is always challenging.  Heard interesting things about this book.

Breathing Under Water:  I really wish I had been introduced to Richard Rohr sooner.  This is currently in my Amazon cart but is probably worth buying before we pack and move.

About Brian

I am a follower of Jesus. I like to read, especially history and psychology. I like scary movies. I enjoy sports.

2 responses »

  1. Sean Durity says:

    Not a fan of Greg Boyd or the open theology folks.

  2. Brian says:

    I am not realy into open theology either. it doesn’t bother me, but doesn’t make sense, but I love myth of a christian nation, and this book is more about man’s nature to judge, be judgment.

Leave a Reply

