Restoration and Revival

I finished preaching a series on Ezra and Nehemiah last night and here is a summary of the series. Whether it is individual, congregational or national, these things are necessary for revival.

Another important lesson, particularly from Nehemiah 13 is that restoration is on ongoing process that is never complete and can be discouraging. We (individual or church) have never arrived. There is always work to be done. If we are not vigilant, we can drift away from God’s Will.

What is needed for Revival:

  • Godly Leaders
    • Zerubbabel, Joshua, Ezra, Nehemiah, Haggai
  • God’s Word
    • Read Nehemiah 8:1-12
  • Courage
    • Working under difficult conditions and against opposition
    • Ezra chs 4-5; Nehemiah chs 4-6
  • Prayer
    • Ezra chapter 9; Nehemiah 1:5-11; Nehemiah 9:5-38
  • Repentance/Confession
    • see prayers above
  • Faith in a Dynamic God
    • notice the repetition of what God had done in Nehemiah 9:5-38
    • God’s Sovereignty, as in much of the Bible, is a theme.
13 thoughts on “Restoration and Revival

  1. Jeanne M.

    Lon is doing a 13-weeks Sunday morning Bible study iwith Power Point on “Revival” based on Stephen Guy’s book, “Revival.” It starts with Ezekiel and Dry Bones. You have done a good job outlining some of the same points. Lon presented the lessons at Tabernacle, NJ, and there were many good remarks about the lessons. In fact he and Bob worked up a program, “Goin’ Fishing” to follow up in training in evangelism, and there were about 1/3 of the congregation who came each Friday night for at least 6 weeks. If you haven’t read the book, you might want to get it.

  2. Brian, looks like a great sermon series. Jeanne, I had fun working with Lon. I wish we could have continued working together and done some more work on the “Going Fishing’ series. Lon’s class on revival was well received at Tabernacle. Hope it’s going well in Charlotte.

  3. Brian

    i will have to check out that book.
    thanks, bob
    we need lisa to comment to get all three generations in in order.

  4. Thank you for straightening me out with the information from your blog. I wasn’t sure what a Revival was…….just a few weeks ago I was passing a small church here that was advertising a Revival. I was going to drive by and blow my air horn and see who was revived.

    Monalea

  5. Brian … this does look like a good series. Two questions:

    1. Are you going to put this on your podcast so I can hear it?

    2. Can you put a link to your podcast page on this page?

    I’d love to hear it…

  6. Brian

    i am still learning about the podcast, the quality isn’t good. it sounds much better on cassette, but after uploading and converting, it doesn’t sound as good.

    I don’t know how to edit the mp3 for quality yet.

    i will link to the podcast page at some point, and i will start uploading more sermons as i figure it out better

  7. Brian … I record mine to cassette too and then run a line from the cassette to the computer. I use a little “free” record program and hit “line in” and “MP3” and “Start Recording” then I hit the play button on the cassette player. It doesn’t sound bad. Let me know if you want the link to the free “recorder.”

  8. Oh, was I supposed to comment? I think I missed my chance. I didn’t know what to say. 😦 I am looking for revival for our church, but don’t know exactly what I can do about it. I love my Family, love their enthusiasm & energy — we just need some more of it, along with some direction. Maybe I should put in a suggestion for our next adult Bible class series — Revival!!

  9. Brian

    that’s what I do, Trey, but I am afraid there is some problem on the original recording to cassette that isn’t good.

    recording using the mypodcast recorder is nice and easy.

  10. Bob,

    Came in this morning and the computer we use for audio/video is down. Can’t get to the recorder program. Called this morning and they’re supposed to be out sometime at the end of the week. Sorry

Leave a Reply

