Monday, Monday

  • I drove 45 minutes in snow yesterday to preach for another congregation as a part of a pulpit swap. At the risk of appearing to toot my own horn…why are we so “okay” with not assembling when the weather is bad. Our brethen many years ago and some today risk their lives each time they gather and we admire that, but we don’t want to get out when it’s raining or snowing. And I even expect old ladies to be “safe” and not get out when the weather is bad. Why do we think that way?
    • Am I am legalist?
    • Do we not really want to worship God”
    • Is safety the biggest idol?
    • Did God ever say, “I want you to stay alive longer so you can serve/worship me more on earth.” I can’t find that in my Bible. Any help?
  • I finally bought an DAP/MP3 player. SanDisk makes cheaper ones. I probably would have been fine with 1 gig but got 2. I have enjoyed downloading sermons. It also has a FM tuner and recording device in addition to storing songs and all types of files, not just MP3. WMA files take up less space and are cheaper when you download songs. I already downloaded some zeppelin.
  • I enjoyed Don’s comments on Christmas music and wanted to add my fav holiday secular tunes:

Question of the Day:

What’s your favorite Led Zeppelin song? (and if it is “Stairway”, please don’t answer)

14 thoughts on “Monday, Monday

  1. don

    I’ll go with “Immigrant Song” because it is the safest LZ song (lyrics wise) for me to admit to…. and because it just keeps moving.

  2. what the heck is a led zeppelin, think it will ever fly?
    I have never knowenly listened to a song by a band known by that name. I have heard of it, just had no desire to listen to it. The name itself indicates they thought they would never get of the ground. 🙂

  3. Brian

    Keith Moon, drummer for the Who, made a snarky remark about the band when they first formed and they kept that as a name.

  4. The Christmas song with the Chipmunks was on the radio the other night, and the kids CRACKED UP! They were laughing so hard in the backseat of the car. I thought I’d have to pull over from laughing at the kids laughing. I think I’m going to have to get a copy of the CD. 😉

    The church we now worship with is the first I’ve ever been with that has canceled due to bad weather. I don’t like it either. But I’d hate to be legalistic about it …

    🙂

  5. I’m a Black Dog guy, but not a big Zepplin fan. Congrats on the new Mp3. I wish we had our first snow. We might not get one this year.

    What else do you plan putting on the mp3?

  6. Brian

    sermons by trey morgan and chris gallagher
    and john dobbs, and john piper and others

    bible audio

    some 80s rock and willie nelson

  7. Brian

    yeah, don,
    that’s awesome. I have it. i recently got an unexpected gift card to B&N, and bought Willie Nelson Essential 2 disc set, greatest hits. it’s nice

Leave a Reply

