Confessions of a Carboholic

So I had my physical Monday morning and learned that I had gained 24lbs in the last 13 months. Did I mention the 24lbs?

My total cholesterol actually went down from 239 to 216 but my triglycerides jumped from 120 to 202. I had cut down on saturated fats but kept on (and maybe increased) my carb intake. That plus a sedentary lifestyle equals trouble.

So I am reading labels. My wife who had gestational diabetes told me how many carbs to eat, including snacks, and I have halfway used it as a guide.

So, anyway, my lovely wife, whom I love, comes home from the grocery store at lunch time. She wasn’t sure want to do for lunch and frozen pizzas were on sale. I love frozen pizzas. I always want her to buy them. She usually doesn’t. I usually eat one while watching Sunday night football after a long hard day. But one serving of the pizza which is a teeny-tiny amount is 70 freakin’ carbs (pardon my language).

I had planned to eat a PB & B sandwich and I did, quickly. Then I left the house for the office to not be around the pizza. I felt cranky today though. I think I am going through carb withdrawal. The kids were driving me crazy just being normal.

So, tonight after Bible study I threw a big chunk of leftover pizza into the toaster oven and devoured it. It felt good. Really good. Actually it didn’t even taste great but I enjoyed it immensely.

My smart wife, who is often correct, thinks that if I cut back to much to the extreme, I will fling way back to the other extreme sooner or later. She preaches moderation. Her and Socrates.

I may live the life of a junkie, though. Buying fries (especially Five Guys Fries) when I am out by myself. I may start eating more chips after she goes to bed. I may hide mashed potatoes in my office and buy a loaf of French bread from a shady guy at Wequahic Park in Newark.

This may be the incentive I need to exercise regularly. If that means I can continue to enjoy pasta, bread, and potatoes, it might be worth it.

“SIIIIIIIIIIGH”

Now I can’t sleep, probably because of all the pizza.

5 thoughts on “Confessions of a Carboholic

  1. You are in a world of hurt. I like the carbos, but if I had my choice I only eat red meat and lots of salt. Why does everything we like have to be bad for us? I bet in heaven we’ll eat all we want and fat, calories and carbs don’t count.

    When you get to heaven you’ll be able to find me at the buffet table

  2. Yeah, I am a carb girl too….not even bad carbs…I love pasta, bagels and crackers. I lost a lot of weight 3 years ago on a very low carb diet….but, It is almost impossible for me to motivate myself to go to that extreme again. I am just trying to be sensible and not eat as much…..

  3. Neva

    Hey, I read somewhere that there are no carbs in food consumed while watching LOST!
    woohoo!!!!!!

    🙂

    Blessings
    Neva

  4. Jeanne M.

    I remember being told that sweets were what raised triglycerides, so I reduced those in my diet. Didn’t help much, and I felt deprived. Now you tell me carbs are what causes the problem. I don’t think I can give up pasta, pizza, breads, or baked potato, but can give up fries. My total is just over 200, never been lower, and my doctor told me not to worry too much about that. I love him! 😉 But I still take a med to help keep it down even that low.

    I really “feel” for you, Brian.

Leave a Reply

