Brian Likes Food

Coke Zero

Have you seen the funny commercial with the young guy sharing a Coke Zero with his grand-dad and the boy tries to explain what it is and the old geezer goes into a rant about what he knows??  Well, after trying a Coke Zero, I find that commercial to be mocking the old man for not realizing it is a diet drink.  But that aside, it is an okay diet drink.  I have tried Coke and Sprite Zero lately and they are a nice change.  I rarely get a regular soda now but will get one of these when I can.

Of course, now science says that fake sugar can make you fat because your body can’t tell the difference.

Bruschetta Burger at Applebee’s

I like Applebee’s burgers and usually get the Cowboy burger with BBQ sauce.  Last week I tried the Bruschetta (please, people, “sch” in Italian is always a hard sound) Burger and loved it.  If the Romans had invented the hamburger, this is what it would be.  Focaccia bread, pesto and diced tomatoes, mozzarella cheese…these are a few of my favorite things.  Really good.  If you aren’t into Italian type stuff, it may sound wierd, but still give it a try.

French Twists by Barry’s Bakery

These things are goooood. And get this: Non Dairy, No Butter, No Cholesterol, No Eggs, No Yeast, and Low Sodium and only 60 calories a piece. How about that?! They are light, flaky, crispy and sweet. We have only tried to Original, which is cinnamon, but there are many others.

8 thoughts on “Brian Likes Food

  1. Neva

    Love, love, love the bruschetta burger at Applebees and the garlic fries aren’t bad either!

    blessings
    neva

  2. Brian

    “c” is a hard ‘c’ unless is is followed directly by an ‘i’ or an ‘e’, then it becomes a “ch” sound as in church

    the first single ‘c’ is a hard one but the double c’s are followed by an ‘i’, and therefore is pronounced:

    fo-KA-cha

  3. Do they have Chinese at Applebee’s? Actually I like quite a bit of Applebee’s food, but never tried the burgers.

    I’ll have to give it a go next time.

  4. My feelings on diet food: don’t bother. They don’t taste good. You end up eating more because you’re thinking, “hey there’s fewer calories in this french twist, I can have a couple extra!” And I’ve always had a thing about fake sugar. I can always detect it. I think in a few years we’re going to discover it causes cancer or slows development of unborn babies when their mommies consume it. I’ve become more & more suspicious of the latest fads or the latest technologies because I think it’s only a matter of time before we find out they are actually bad for us in the long run.

    If you love food, you should just enjoy it. My two cents anyway. 🙂

    You were disappointed that my “food for thought” post wasn’t about food, so you decided to post about food yourself, huh? 🙂

  5. Brian

    preach,
    sounds good to me, too.

    lisa,
    yep, that’s pretty much it.

    trey,
    I hope you can enjoy Chong’s in Paducah someday.

  6. preachershouse

    I’m up for food!

    Lisa, everything causes cancer. The sun causes cancer. Just enjoy life in moderation.

    I must say burgers are supposed to be burger. Italian is its’ own category. Everybody tries to hard to make some original creation. I guess that is why I have never been too impressed with Applebees. That and the prices. imho

    James

Leave a Reply

