I know…it’s only Rock n Roll…

but I like it…love it…yes I do!

This post is why Al Gore invented blogging.  I am going to list my favorite rock bands for each of the last decades.  Purely personal.  Pointless.  Might even lead to a fight.  Feel free to critique and share afterwards, even though we all know there are no right answers, just lots of wrong ones.

1950s

  • Elvis Presley
  • Chuck Berry
  • Buddy Holly

1960s

  • Beatles
  • Rolling Stones
  • Bob Dylan
  • All three of these had great albums in the 70s, but IMO, it starts with them and really starts in this decade.  And if you haven’t heard Dylan’s live concert when he first went electric, don’t tell me he wasn’t about rock n roll.

1970s

  • Led Zeppelin
  • Pink Floyd
  • Aerosmith (who recovered well and could be added to the 90s)
  • I just didn’t get much out of the Boston/Journey/Foreigner/etc. bands.  They should have combined to form one group, which still wouldn’t have been worthy to open for Led Zeppelin.

1980s

  • Motley Crue (not just glam band, the Dr. Feelgood album still rocks)
  • Metallica (I was never into the screaming, but love the guitars)
  • Guns N Roses (maybe they spilled over into the 90s, but definitely not a 90s band)

1990s

  • Nirvana
  • Stone Temple Pilots
  • Bush
  • I am sure there will be lots of disagreement here.  Apparently, the truly hip people know that Pearl Jam was better than Nirvana.  There were good, too, but didn’t make my list.

2000s

  • Well, I listen to AM talk radio more than rock n roll now, but still hear a few things.  I get called to do a survey every two weeks.  I don’t even recognize many of the hard rock songs.
  • One band I enjoy, and will add to this decade even though it is far from over….
  • 3 Doors Down

I know I left out a lot like Red Hot Chili Peppers, REM, Pearl Jam.  Dylan is the only virtuoso on there, or one might add Jimi Hendrix, etc.

Okay, your turn to share your opinions.  Remember this is about Rock music.

27 thoughts on “I know…it’s only Rock n Roll…

  1. I heart Pink Floyd! B doesn’t like them because has this personal opinion that they are evil or something because of the Wall/Wizard of Oz thing. I don’t believe him, and now I’m referring him to your blog so I can tell him that the preacher likes them so I’m vindicated!;) Oh, and Pearl Jam is NOT better than Nirvana. And Bob Dylan rules.

  2. I was a headbanger in the 80’s. You bring back great memories. Metallica’s Ride The Lightning was the first metal tape I got from my Cousin. I was hooked. I had a friend give me six Iron Madden tapes. Metalica’s the Black Album is still on I regularly listen to. Motley Crew’s Dr. Feelgood is one of the best albums on the 80. I loved Paradise City by G’N’R. In the 1990’s it was Perl Jam, Soundgarden, Temple of the Dog, STP, Nervana. I still remember when they actually had Nervana appear on headbangers ball.
    Brian thanks for the great memories buddy.

  3. Great picks, Brian. And now, from the I’m-Offended-and-Gettin’-Persnickety Department:

    There can be no doubt that Led Zeppelin are in a category of their own. But the Boston/Journey/Foreigner comment hurt me.

    I wouldn’t add Aerosmith to the 90s. Go back and listen to the Rocks, Get Your Wings, and Toys in the Attic albums. IMO, that’s several steps up from the 90s Aerosmith who, at that time, were being coached by the dude who invented and promoted boy bands. The 90s Aerosmith were more broadly popular, but weren’t nearly as good. 1970s = Aerosmith creative; 1990s = Aerosmith packaged

  4. Brian

    p-man, i deleted extra comment, but left the brownies comment, which is funnier now that people don’t see both of the other comments.

    frank
    I am not totally anti-those bands, some good stuff,
    I would have to agree with the aerosmith thots

  5. Preacherman, that was funny.

    Brian, you left out New Kids on the Block! Remember how you had all their cds and posters all over your room and use to write them those crazy “I’m your biggest fan!” letters? Remember how crushed you were when they issued the restraining order?

  6. don’t they say confessing is good for the soul,
    as long as I’m confessing, there was M Jackson, Huey Lewis, and the News, and a few more 😕 but I wasn’t a headbanger, unless ya count the time someone hit their brakes to hard , and my head hit the sidewindow~~~~~

    I hope this don’t make ya think less of me! 😕

  7. PM,
    yep that too, was good stuff to work too, when i worked as a presser , for Lee jeans. it would help me work faster,

  8. Brian

    jel, no judging here for music tastes

    i also loved, and still enjoy Duran Duran

    Union of the Snake
    Her name is Rio and she dances on the sand…

  9. Brian

    too, bad, maybe he will change his mind by the time you have a second one, assuming it’s a girl

  10. Brian

    okay, def leppard did rock.
    but not more than the crew, but maybe equal to…

    either way, both are better than coldplay.

    you had mentioned coldplay and U2, i lost interest in U2 after Achtung Baby,

  11. Bri Bri,
    i ALMOST agree with all ur picks….with these additions.

    (shame on u for dogging Journey….remind me to throw u an evil glance friday for shunning the awesome ppl who brought us “dont stop believing”)

    1950’s
    Johnny Cash (yeah, he rules sooo much he breaks beyond country and into rock…:P)

    1960’s
    Jimi Hendrix

    1970’s
    JOURNEY

    1980’s
    Van Halen

    1990’s
    RadioHead
    Smashing Pumpkins
    Weezer

    2000
    Limp Bizkit
    Korn
    Deftones
    Tool
    (………the um…clean versions of course……*cough*)

    now do your hard core gangsta rap section!!

    -wheat

  12. Brian

    ok, wheaties,

    i do love johnny cash, but still wouldn’t include.

    i like journey okay, just not enough to make the list. (didn’t realize how popular they are)

    Van Halen: a glaring omission, and I apologize. you are right with that one.

    also, you 90s suggestion are all top ten, so if I had listed more, I would have included them.

Leave a Reply

