Men Eating Steak

I am sure many other things took place on Saturday, but the title is what I will remember most.  I think there were some small people there, but I don’t recall any grown women.  I do remember a peanut butter cup/choc chip cookie thingy that is the most brilliant dessert I have ever seen or enjoyed.  So, I guess I must give credit to Chandra.  My wife was with her so check her blog to find out what the women did.

Actually, the kids had a blast.  They played outside a lot, some in the slipNslide.  They watched Little Mermaid.  Then we played downstairs at the end of the day.

Back to the steaks.  I have only grilled steaks one other time that I remember so I wasn’t sure how it would go.  Luckily the guys with me a little experience also.  I followed Tucker’s advice, kinda, about prepping the meat.  My wife bought Kosher salt instead of sea salt.  They are either the same thing or very close. We coated the meat well with salt and left in fridge for a couple of hours.

Then each manly man prepped his own steak.  I put minced garlic, balsamic vinegar, sherry cooking wine, and olive oil on mine and left in the fridge or another hour or so.

The final results…..???  Awesomely fantastic.  Best steak I ever grilled and as good as some restaurants.  I was proud and pleased. (click on fotos for better view)

mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

drooool

13 thoughts on “Men Eating Steak

  1. So can you grunt like Tim Allen? Seems like an appropriate moment.

    You’d love an Argentine cookout. The traditional calculation is to buy 1.5 pounds of meat per person, although the economy tends to limit that.

    Sounds like you had a great time.

    Grace and peace,
    Tim

  2. Jeanne M.

    A little too much garlic for me, but otherwise it looks great. Were all those steaks just for you, or did everyone doctor theirs the same way?

    Steaks are not just a man-thing. My favorite places to eat are Outback and Texas Roadhouse.

    Glad you had a good time with the men. Chandra’s blog would not have been good to see before you ate that meat.

  3. I’m going to have to show those pictures to my wife, a Brazilian, later. Brazilians are VERY critical of American cookouts. Hot dogs and hamburgers aren’t on the menu at Brazilian cookouts…unless an American brings them. Your pics will prove that there are at least a few sensible Americans out there. 🙂

  4. Brian

    that’s cool, adam, if a brazilian is impress, I will be even more proud

    jeane,
    that foto of the bug is awful. makes me shiver.
    outback is good, but I only eat steak once or maybe twice a year.

  5. Brian

    no prob, C, they were great!

    sorry, I didn’t mean to pressure you to blog on Saturday’s events. you may not have planned to blog about it

    maybe…nothing interesting happened…

    or….maybe…your lawyer has requested you not say anything
    🙂

  6. Mmmm, great pics. We’ve been preparing ours by brushing eevo on them the rubbing them with seasoning, then we let them sit out for an hour at room temp.

    I may have to try the “tucker” way.

    PS – Enjoyed catching up on your blog.

  7. Brian

    Chandra,
    after posting i went up to discover we had one left. I was so glad because you comment made me think about them again.
    i actually shared it with the wife.

    what a sacrificial act on my part!! 🙂

  8. Wow, that was extremely sacrificial since splitting one of those would give you like 1/4 inch of cookie to eat yourself!;) I finally posted a blog about Saturday. The guards here at the jail said if I wanted to give up my one phone call they’d let me use the internet for a couple of minutes instead. I thought that was really nice. I’m so mad that my videos won’t download tonight, though. Growl.

  9. Extra extra virgin olive oil … at least that’s what my wife calls it.

    Why does it need 2 extra’s. It’s either virgin or not…. right?

    I think there’s a joke there somewhere

Leave a Reply

