CoBlogging: A Brother and Sister Take Manhattan

Brian:  It was a long and fun day that began with the 2-year old having an accident while waiting for the train.

Paula:  It was hot and smelt of urine

Brian:  So, we started over.  Went home and caught a train an hour later.

Paula:  We doused the little one with baby powder but were afraid port authority would think we were sneaking cocaine into the city.  Every time she took a step, a cloud of powder burst at her feet.

Brian:  The best view of ground zero is arriving on the train.  Once you get above ground, you can’t really see anything, but we went to the World Trade Center Visitor Center after eating at the poshest McDs ever.

Apparently the singer/pianist was a McProfessional Performer.
Brian: Apparently the singer/pianist was a McProfessional Performer.
The memorial was extremely emotional.  You can't walk past the 1000's pictures of the missing and not hurt for the families.
Paula: The memorial was extremely emotional. You can't walk past the 1000's of pictures of the missing and not hurt for the families.

Brian:  It wasn’t as emotional when you are chasing a 4 year-old and 2 year-old through it.  Although the walls of personal pics and the metal airplane window frame were very……..”something”

Paula: As I walked past the personal items recovered at ground zero I listened to the father in front of me explain to his preteen the events of that day. I watched the father hesitate when the boy asked, “But why?”  The father had no answer.

Brian:  We then took the subway uptown to Times Square.  My sister took pictures of everything, metro card machine, homeless people, a clown guy on the subway.

Paula: The subway…hmm what can I say about the subway? Oh, I know, It was hot and smelt of urine.

Brian:  I think she also took a picture of a pool of urine, at least we thought it was urine, didn’t want to get close enough to smell it.

And you thought I was joking....
Brian: And you thought I was joking....

Brian:  When we walked up out of the subway at Times Square, she was robbed about six times without realizing it while staring up and taking pictures.  We didn’t see the Naked Cowboy guy, it must have been laundry day. And speaking of Times Square…

Paula: It too,  was hot and smelt of urine, but at least everyone had their clothes on!

We don't know the guys lower left.
Maybe that's the guy that robbed you.
Why did you take this one?  A real New Yorker's backside?
Brian: Why did you take this one? A real New Yorker's backside?

Paula: I don’t remember taking this picture but do remember accidentally hitting the button a couple of times.

Brian:  The kids were tired and Sam had just fallen down after tripping on the curb so we went to the World’s Largest Toys’R’Us, which is four stories of stuff, including a ferris wheel and a dinosaur.

Paula, Marisa, and the kids got to ride on it while Brian took pics.
Paula, Marisa, and the kids got to ride on it while Brian took pics.

Paula: The best part of the trip was walking through the giant Toys “R” Us!  If I could go straight back there and avoid the crazy clowns on the subways, the half-dressed people walking down the side of the road, and the yellow cabs trying to run me over, I would go tomorrow.

Not one single dad in the joint went through the Barbie House! What's up with that!
Not one dad in the joint went through the Barbie House! What's up with that?

Brian:  We finally headed towards home, got a little confused after coming out of the subway at 34th without seeing Penn Station anywhere, but we finally made it.

Paula: I walk out of the subway and take in the view of a magnificent building. I ask my twice-college-educated brother, “Isn’t that the Empire State Building?”  He says

Brian: “NO”

Paula: Then I hear the 8 year old kid behind me yell, “Look Mom! The Empire State Building!!”

Brian:  Stupid, smart-alec, 8 year-old tourist brats.  I think I then said, “at this point, I really don’t care” because I was confused and temporarily lost. Decide for yourselves…

Well??
Well??

Brian:  Well, it was a fun, yet long and tiring day.  Tomorrow we plan to hit the shore (that’s what cool people call the beach).  Maybe we will report on the day’s events tomorrow evening.  Who knows?

Paula: It was hot and smelt of dead fish…Oh wait, that’s for tomorrow’s post.

10 thoughts on “CoBlogging: A Brother and Sister Take Manhattan

  1. wjcsydney

    Thanks for sharing your day with us. C has been to NYC (he even did some work in the Twin Towers way back THEN) and he loves it. maybe we will all get to go one day…

  2. J D

    You know…that might be the most entertaining blog post ever. You should blog together frequently. Thanks!

  3. Funny 🙂 I have a picture of a woman’s backside on my camera too — but it’s MY backside, caught on camera by my adorable husband.

    Yeah, I think that’s the Empire State Building. Besides, I googled it, and it looks like it’s on 34th. 😉

  4. What it’s “seeping,” no one wants to know!! 🙂

    By the way, Paula told me about some guy wearing a VT shirt that you saw, but I couldn’t find the picture in her facebook albums. I know there’s not a chance I would know him, but wouldn’t that have been awesome?!?!

  5. Jeanne M.

    Thoroughly enjoyed your trip to NYC and the great conversation between you and Paula. I also will confirm for Paula that it is the Empire State Building. Hope you enjoyed the beach trip as well.

    I enjoyed meeting Matt Dabbs and Tim Archer at the Spiritual Growth Workshop in Orlando. “Sat at their feet” and had a edifying feast. The weekend with Lisa’s folks was great, and we are enjoying a time with them for a few more days.

Leave a Reply

