Sad Songs Say so Much

I recently bought the “O Brother, Where Art Thou?” soundtrack after seeing the movie.  I had been wanting the music for a long time and seeing the film pushed me over the edge.  Fun movie.  Great Music.

One thing was surprising, though.  The cute little diddy, “You are my Sunshine” is not what it seems.  We have all happily sung the chorus and it is so cheerful and fun.  Well, guess what.  When you listen to the whole song, it is one of the more depressing, melancholy, bluegrass songs ever.  That’s saying a lot for Bluegrass, which has more than its fair share of sad songs.  It’s about a girl that r-u-n-o-f-t.

Here are the rest of the verses:

The other night dear, as I lay sleeping
I dreamed I held you in my arms
But when I awoke, dear, I was mistaken
So I hung my head and I cried.

I’ll always love you and make you happy,
If you will only say the same.
But if you leave me and love another,
You’ll regret it all some day:

You told me once, dear, you really loved me
And no one else could come between.
But not you’ve left me and love another;
You have shattered all of my dreams:

In all my dreams, dear, you seem to leave me
When I awake my poor heart pains.
So when you come back and make me happy
I’ll forgive you dear, I’ll take all the blame.

I actually like sad songs.  Elton John was right.  What other sad and depressing songs can you think of?

And since WordPress just added a Poll function, I am going to test it out.

15 thoughts on “Sad Songs Say so Much

  1. I have to say that Chapin’s wins out in sadness quotient. The tragic death of a child is one thing (Clapton) but quite another is the slow, inward death of a father-son relationship that should be nothing less than strong and deep.

  2. The Prisoner’s song

    Oh, I wish I had someone to love me,
    Someone to call me their own.
    Oh, I wish I had someone to live with
    ‘Cause I’m tired of livin’ alone.

    Oh, please meet me tonight in the moonlight,
    Please meet me tonight all alone,
    For I have a sad story to tell you,
    It’s a story that’s never been told.

    I’ll be carried to the new jail tomorrow,
    Leaving my poor darling alone,
    With the cold prison bars all around me
    And my head on a pillow of stone.

    Now I have a grand ship on the ocean,
    All mounted with silver and gold,
    And before my poor darlin’ would suffer,
    Oh, that ship would be anchored and sold.

    Now if I had the wings of an angel
    Over these prison walls I would fly,
    And I’d fly to the arms of my poor darlin’,
    And there I’d be willing to die.

  3. J D

    Martina McBride’s Concrete Angel or God’s Will … they both bring tears.

    Vintage Michael W. Smith from the I to Eye album, I Miss The Way.

    The Carpenters Rainy Days and Mondays is so sad.

    Elton John Candle in the wind

    there are so many!

  4. I’m going to be real honest here. I can handle a sad song, but when they try to make them SUPER sad, they have the reverse effect on me. Instead of making me sad … I want to puke!

    Please don’t make me name the songs.

    PS – I think we need to do a post on “church songs that are bad and need to go away!”

  5. I don’t answer music questions because 1) I usually don’t listen very closely to lyrics and 2) it’s been a while since I listened to secular music & I don’t remember much!

    Did you get many people voting on your poll? I haven’t explored that feature yet.

  6. trey, i finally went to the pearl jam link, that is a great cover, but the original is really good, and really sad, the car i usually drive doesn’t have a radio so I was singing it today driving back and forth from the hospital

Leave a Reply

