Myth of a Christian Nation–Introduction

I have been reading The Myth of a Christian Nation: How the Quest for Political Power is Destroying the Church by Gregory A Boyd and really enjoying it.  With the election rapidly approaching, I am going to share excerpts for a while  The author is not anti-American, anti-govt, or anti-voting, although some of you will think that.  It is hard to explain water to a fish, and it is often difficult to recognize how much our culture affects us.

“I believe a significant segment of American evangelicalism is guilty of nationalistic and political idolatry.” (11)

“I hope to challenge the assumption that finding the right political path has anything to do with advancing the kingdom of God.” (12)

“The myth of America as a Christian nation, with the church as its guardian, has been, and continues to be, damaging both to the church and to the advancement of God’s kingdom.” (13)

Three Preliminary Words:

  1. “My Thesis applies as much to Christians on the political left as on the political right.”
  2. “To insist that we keep the kingdom of God radically distinct from all versions of the kingdom of the world does not mean that our faith and moral convictions shouldn’t inform our participation in the political process.”
  3. “This book is written to help us get a clear vision of the unique kingdom of God as revealed in the life of Jesus, to see how its Calvary-like way of bringing about the change in people’s lives and in society is completely different from the world’s, and to see the great harm that results when Jesus’ disciples fail to preserve the uniqueness of that way.”

What do you think?  I love point 3.

How can we keep the Kingdom radically distinct from the various kingdoms, especially the US of A?

5 thoughts on “Myth of a Christian Nation–Introduction

  1. Paula

    It’s not that I’m against voting or that I won’t vote but too many people forget that God is in control no matter who wins in November, no matter what happens to this country, no matter what happens in the world.

    In my opinion, there will come a time in this country when Christians won’t be able to worship in public without fear of harm or imprisionment. It would be terrible but I wonder if it wouldn’t make more people realize just where they stand in their Christianity. Remember, the church grew in times of persecution.

  2. Pingback: Christian Quill » Myth of a Christian Nation–Introduction

  3. Teresa

    I grew up with the notion that the USA and God’s Kingdom were practically the same thing. Of course, that was after WWII and during the Cold War. I stopped saluting the flag in high school because I thought it was stupid. I don’t do it now because I don’t see the necessity of it and feel that my allegiance is in heaven. Also, I lived in 3 other countries that do not insist that 5 year olds pledge their allegiance to the nation every morning before school starts. They all seemed to be pretty decent people who payed their taxes and were reasonably patriotic. I think I want to read this book.

    Viva the revolution!
    Comrade Teresa

  4. Brian

    grazie, teresa (and lol)
    that’s cool. i respect JWs for their political stances, too. thanks for the comment

    living overseas, being an outsider really helps, mark twain was right…

Leave a Reply

