Hospitality Fail

Luke 7:44-50 (NIV)

Then he turned toward the woman and said to Simon, “Do you see this woman? I came into your house. You did not give me any water for my feet, but she wet my feet with her tears and wiped them with her hair. You did not give me a kiss, but this woman, from the time I entered, has not stopped kissing my feet. You did not put oil on my head, but she has poured perfume on my feet. Therefore, I tell you, her many sins have been forgiven—for she loved much. But he who has been forgiven little loves little.”

Then Jesus said to her, “Your sins are forgiven.”

The other guests began to say among themselves, “Who is this who even forgives sins?”

Jesus said to the woman, “Your faith has saved you; go in peace.”

Whatever happened to hospitality among God’s people?

Have you noticed there are a few times when Jesus forgives sins after the person doesn’t even ask for it?  “Father, forgive them, they don’t know what they are doing.”  The paralytic lowered through the roof in Mark 2.

How much have you been forgiven?  How much do you love Jesus?

Would you express your love and devotion to Jesus in a humiliating and public way?

I get a kick out of the FailBlog, with bloopers and funny pictures.  Can you think of any other Bible stories that could be described as a “Fail.”

10 thoughts on “Hospitality Fail

  1. Brian

    As a “Church of Christ” preacher, I am certified to respond to these questions anytime, anywhere.

    Gospel Context Response:
    How do you know he didn’t. some suggest that John 3:3-5 alludes to baptism. the jews were used to ceremonial washings. just because it’s not in the concordance, doesn’t mean it’s not there

    Handling the Word Response/Understanding Inspiration:
    just because the words aren’t in red, doesn’t mean Jesus didn’t say it or want it said. Sure, Jesus emphasized important things during his earthly ministry,but that doesn’t mean the things he left for the disciples to teach were irrelevant, AND I don’t like the whole Gospels/Letters dichotomy b/c of verses like these:
    John 14:26
    John 16:12ff

    Apostolic Authority is also a clear, red-letter, teaching of Jesus that is disrespected by the Gospels/Letters dichotomy.

  2. Brian

    touche!
    sorry, laymond, I thought you liked to play a little rough, I was messing around.

    i am still up for discussing baptism, and I will leave out the sarcasm from now on.

  3. Brian, I believe we both know the reason for baptism, I was simply adding to your statement, “Have you noticed there are a few times when Jesus forgives sins after the person doesn’t even ask for it?” (and without baptism as well) I didn’t mean to “hijack” anything I actually thought I was staying on subject, I guess not.

  4. Brian

    I do really apologize, brother. I was responding to you, thinking about recent discussions over at Don’s blog, and not just staying “on topic” myself. I will remove the snarky stuff.

  5. yep, we go to hog wild inserting questions of baptism into stories like the Thief on the Cross, which is such a beautiful story of Mercy, that we miss the point…..

    here’s my honest response to your actual intent.

  6. Not to worry brother, you have 489 times left, after that watch out. 🙂
    Mt:18:22: Jesus saith unto him, I say not unto thee, Until seven times: but, Until seventy times seven.

  7. I’m really confused with all this discussion about baptism. I didn’t think baptism as even the topic here. Maybe that would make this “Discussion Fail” or just “Trey Fail?”

    As for your post … how about “Purchase Fail” for Simon trying to buy the Holy Spirit? Or how about “Zeal Fail” when Saul was blinded on the road to Damascus?

Leave a Reply

