My Anti “anti-Christmas rant” Rant

I like the Holidays.  I love Christmas and Christmas music, secular and spiritual.  But this kind of thing bothers me.  I received this poem from a dear Christian lady (I don’t doubt her faith nor the author’s), but I want to respond to its point, as I perceive it.

(*SIGH*) (My reaction/comments are in red from this point on. The poem I received is in black.)

 

Twas the month before Christmas When all through our land,

Not a Christian was praying   Nor taking a stand.

(This intro could be a great point except for what follows)

See, the PC Police had taken away the reason for Christmas – no one could say. (what power do they have? and what is actually being taken away? did the steal Baby Jesus?)

The children were told by their government schools not to sing,

About Shepherds and Wise Men and Angels and things.

It might hurt people’s feelings, the teachers would say

December 25th is just a ‘ Holiday’. (went to a singing program at my son’s pre-K/kindergarten.  they sang a Hannukah song.  They mentioned Kwanza.  Why not? It didn’t bother me one bit. I didn’t expect it to be a christian service.)

Yet the shoppers were ready with cash, checks and credit

Pushing folks down to the floor just to get it!

CDs from Beyonce, an X BOX, an I-pod

Something was changing, something quite odd!

(This section was good.  I wish it were the main point of the poem.)

Retailers promoted Ramadan and Kwanzaa  (so what?)

In hopes to sell books by Franken & Fonda. (your point is?? they should only sell those books that agree with my political, religious, or ethnic views?)

As Targets were hanging their trees upside down.

At Lowe’s the word Christmas – was no where to be found.

At K-Mart and Staples and Penny’s and Sears

You won’t hear the word Christmas; it won’t touch your ears.

(Excuse me!  Did baby Jesus sign an exclusive contract with any of these companies?  Why should this matter to a Christian?  Except for xenophobia, why should a Christian care if these stores honor all holidays, or just Christmas, depending on what their Management decides?  Are we actually shocked that they are more concerned with dollars than promoting our faith?  Really?  Are they Christian institutions that have gone astray?? Are Sears and Target supposed to be preaching the Gospel?  Are they ordained by God to tell the good News of Jesus and Santa Claus???)

Inclusive, sensitive, Di-ver-si-ty Are words that were used to intimidate me.

(don’t be intimidated.  Respect others. take a trip out of your little geographical and/or comfort zone.  where I live there is diversity, we accept it and deal with it, instead of griping about it.)

Now Daschle, Now Darden, Now Sharpton, Wolf Blitzen

On Boxer, on Rather, on Kerry, on Clinton !

(you think this is about more about Jesus or politics?  hmm?)

At the top of the Senate, there arose such a clatter

To eliminate Jesus, in all public matter.

And we spoke not a word, as they took away our faith

(How exactly can they “take away our faith?”  Someone please explain to me.  Sure, they can take away conveniences we have had as the overwhelming majority, but that should have nothing to do with our faith, unless we are only going to follow Jesus when the Government and Culture makes it easy, and are on our side, or at least under our thumb.)

Forbidden to speak of salvation and grace

The true Gift of Christmas was exchanged and discarded

The reason for the season, stopped before it started.

So as you celebrate ‘Winter Break’ under your ‘Dream Tree’

Sipping your Starbucks, listen to me.

Choose your words carefully, choose what you say

Shout MERRY CHRISTMAS , not Happy Holiday !

Please, all Christians, wish everyone you meet, “Merry Christmas!”

NO!!! I am going to be kind and gentle, and treat people with a different faith than mine with kindness in hopes that they will accept Jesus someday.  Instead of forcing Xmas down their throats, I am going to say”Happy Hannukah” or “Happy Kwanza.”  And maybe I won’t get your vote, but I don’t care.  Christmas isn’t about politics or rights, either.  Not about getting what I want (hmm, or is it? The author really seems to be concerned about getting what he/she wants) But it’s not about having things my way.

It’s about God, the Son, giving up rights and glory to come to to Earth as a baby human, taking the form/nature of a humble servant to love and die for everyone,  in order to reach them with the Good News. Why don’t we follow His Example instead of Caesar’s??

How sad and ironic that this author is also missing the point of Christmas and is so tangled up in this world.

Sigh….

19 thoughts on “My Anti “anti-Christmas rant” Rant

  1. Someone pointed out that the same people that don’t want you talking about Christmas at church want the people at Target to talk to you about Christmas….

    I guess we want Target to be “Christian” in a way that we don’t want to be. (That’s why I’m only shopping at Christian Dior this year… they HAVE to be Christian)

  2. Bill

    Nuh uh. Christmas is a personal thing. Not everyone celebrates and its mighty narcissistic of you to expect the whole country to celebrate with you. If you want to celebrate the season go to a holiday play (and not one at a school). Share the message of Christmas with family and friends but don’t expect me to. What if instead of having a majority of Christians in this country we were all Jewish and you stayed Christian. Would you like it if all of the sudden everywhere you turned someone was practicing religious traditions that you do not only not follow but disagree with? We DO have a seperation between church and state. And yes it IS clearly defined in the constitution so don’t listen to those who are spewing the disinformation that its not in there.

  3. Bill

    You know I want to clarify I was disagreeing with the author of the poem. I read this blog very fast and at first believed that the Author’s opinion was in black. So I direct my comment at the author of the poem not the blog. That said I think my comment still makes sense

  4. Brian

    tim, i didn’t even get to that other irony, but yea, ridiculous

    thanks for commenting, bill, great point, if the shoe were on the other foot, we would definitely feel differently, kinda like “do unto others….” if you ask me

  5. PALMORE – Hilarious!

    In regards to God not changing. Didn’t Moses change God’s mind?

    Brian, I agree with you completely.

    Tim A – excellent point!

  6. Alas, a rant with meaning and place in a world or trials and turmoils. Your points spring to the minds of the readers the injustice seen in the world around us regarding the upcoming season and the opportunity that exists.

    I am sure Satan laughs while allowing us to fight and fume of the silliness of the human world as we forget the place of the spiritual world in our lives. Merry Christmas is replaced with Happy Holidays…yeah I do not like it, but I also do not like the fact I murdered my Savior. Yes I did it…we all did. It is about we put Christ back in our lives instead of worrying if someone at the local Wal-Mart or Target will say Merry Christmas or Happy Holidays!

    Ok I am done….Happy KwanChirstmaHannakumas!

  7. yeah, justin
    that isn’t God changing His nature,though;

    but God’s Will has been seemingly affected/altered many times by prayer, like Moses, Abraham bargaining for Sodom/Gomorrah, Hezekiah’s prayer for more life, etc.

  8. So sad that I couldn’t even remember my own comment from last year. Christian Dior… that was actually pretty good, if I do say so myself.

    Still, I’m going to have to forward this to Glenn Beck…

  9. Brian

    tim, guess that’s the prob with experience and age, you forget what you know and do
    or regarding Glen Beck, senility and insanity

    he and bill maher deserve each other as far as I am concerned

  10. Enjoyed and agreed. Will not forget the time a dear Christian lady got all upset that I “X-ed out Christ in Christmas.” She never did believe I was using a “Greek” shorthand.

Leave a Reply

