A Sad Irony

Three discussions on three different good blogs that I like.  I am friends with some of the combatants, uh…I mean participants.

Each and all dealing with fellowship issues.

Each and all manifesting the same problem.

Different understandings of scripture.  Generalizations and accusations.  Anger and regrettable statements.  I am not going to pick a side or point a finger.

But if you read through the comments, you will see the problem that the church has.  But you won’t all see the same problem.  And that’s the problem.

Anybody Alarmed Yet?

The Line of Fellowship

Response to Richland Hills being Excluded from Directory

11 thoughts on “A Sad Irony

  1. Brian,

    I’ve not read the other two, but the conversation in which I have participated is open, honest dialogue. Sure, there have been disagreements. But how are we ever going to work things through if we cannot disagree?

    God bless you!

    Matt

  2. “But if you read through the comments, you will see the problem that the church has. But you won’t all see the same problem. And that’s the problem.”

    Only a seasoned evangelist, such as yourself, has the wisdom and faith gained through meeting God in those places where God and life begin to intersect has the ability to make this observation. Thank you!

    I want to be a part of the solution but sometimes I am not sure whether I am part of the solution or just another part of the problem.

    Grace and peace,

    Rex

  3. Brian

    “But how are we ever going to work things through if we cannot disagree?”
    Amen! I appreciate that statement.

    thanks, Rex. flattery gets you everwhere with me.

    we are all part of the problem, and we are all part of the solution

    (wierd, i am talking Zen or something, sorry)

  4. I commented on Jay Guin’s blog that it seems like everyone finds this a perfect time to push their hobby. Conservatives say the church is being ruined by the change agents. Progressives blame the legalists. People like me think its the church following culture too much, while Brian thinks we’re not using the Old Testament enough. 😉

    Seems like this is more of a time for prayer, for seeking to follow the Spirit, and for strengthening what remains.

    Grace and peace,
    Tim

  5. Tucker

    ahh, so it continues. While we enjoy our time bickering, we teach others that the role of a church goer is to go, to be proper, and to bicker with those who differ with our law. I am so glad that Modern Day Pharisees don’t exist today…or do they? I wonder what the definition of a modern day Pharisee would be? And I wonder what Jesus would say about this?

  6. As an inadvertent combatant in one of those discussions, I have to say I have found the nasty tone of some (with gross generalizations and words like ḧypocrite thrown around) to be a confirmation that the a cappella Churches of Christ cannot be fixed.

    I suppose it would be easy to confuse me with the “progressive” camp, but I am not. Nor am I a traditionalist (conservative), as I once was. I’m in some other category for which I don’t think the Churches of Christ have room.

    I tell myself that I should be part of the “discussion,” but it is so depressing. On the other hand, I find the notion that I’m “really with the independent Christian Churches” less comforting than I once did.

    I’m pretty sure this isn’t what I signed up for….

    🙂

  7. Brian

    the good news is that God hasn’t called any of us to “fix” the churches of Christ.

    he is probably send prophets to call his people back to what is important, but even in the OT, they weren’t fixers, problem-solvers. they were simply proclaimers. they had a job to do.
    (there I go bringing the OT into it, Tim)

    the people repented and were blessed, or continued on their path and went into exile…

    (i share these thoughts with the realization that someone will prob ignore everything except a reference to OT prophets and probably want to debate whether the office of prophet is in effect today, and how it is same/different from OT prophets)

  8. Pingback: Did We Miss the Point? « Adventures in Preaching

  9. Oh how sometimes I long for the days and times of teh Corinthian church. There problems were greater than ours. Their sinful lives filled the homes and placed they met like a flood of Satan’s former pagan workers, yet the desires some of them had were becoming so overwhelming Paul told them of God’s escape plan.

    There lives were changing for the good, but not everyone saw that. The fighting and griping overwhelming the church made the gospel of no effect.

    I wonder, would we fellowship them, even with all their problems?

    There is a line to draw, but grace and truth draw the line in the presence of Almighty God because God already made the line in the marks of His Son. The hands and the side of a crucified Savior means more than the dividing thoughts of man.

    Ok, I need more coffee now…peace.

Leave a Reply

