Winning the Lottery

I mentioned in my PM sermon (Ephesians 2:1-10) on Sunday that Salvation was kinda like winning the lottery.  Of course, instead of being about Luck, it’s about Love.

We can’t deny you have to do something–Faith (which includes repentence, obedience, baptism (yes, I am one of those old-fashioned legalists who believes that salvation occurs in baptism and leaves all exceptions/questions to God)) but what we actually do is puny compared to what we received.

We pay a couple of bucks for a lottery ticket and win millions.

You don’t win if you don’t play.

You HAVE to do SOMETHING to be saved but it does not compare at all to what God does for us.

Any thoughts?

(Disclaimer:  I am not endorsing or promoting playing the lottery.  I learned the 5 Deadly Sins for Church of Christ youth while growing up and know that dancing, drinking, smoking, pre-marital sex, and gambling will send you directly to hell without passing go and that avoiding these deadly sins is the most important thing for youth.)

4 thoughts on “Winning the Lottery

  1. jeff

    The idea that grace is unmerited favor, there’s nothing we can do to deserve it, has often been interpreted as meaning there’s nothing you do for it. Which is quite goofy, unless universalism is your deal. There is something you have to do to get grace and what you have to do for it is still a long way off from deserving it!

  2. I wish I wouldn’t have read this post. In two weeks I’ll be in Vegas for the NASCAR race. Now, thanks to you, I can’t even gamble. 🙂

    I love the comparison between winning the lottery and salvation. I haven’t ever thought of it that way.

Leave a Reply

