Big-Boned Tuesday/Mardi Gras

My wife, who grew up on the northshore of  Lake Ponchartrain, outside of New Orleans, made some yummy King Cake last night.  We are having friends over Sunday for Gumbo/Jumbalaya and more King Cake.

We really must show some mercy.  In this day and age, how can we refer to this Tuesday as “Fat?”  I suggest changing the name to either “obese” or “overweight” or, my first choice, “Big-Boned Tuesday.”

I must continue my annual Lent tradition.

In Honor of Lent, I will give up all Lint for the next 40 days.  This includes bellybutton, pocket, and dryer lint.

16 thoughts on “Big-Boned Tuesday/Mardi Gras

  1. So I’m writing a screen play: The Curious Case of Benjamin’s Bellybutton Lint. Seriously, how in the heck does that happen? Just glad to know I’m not the only one.

  2. Brian, I am giving up lent clothes, because nobody else’s will fit.
    hey! Don opened comments, but I can’t comment, because I don’t know what he said. 🙂

  3. Brian

    sorry, wendy, if fat tues is over, you can’t have any sweet stuff. I will get you marisa’s recipe (that she found) but you can google it.

    it is kinda cinnamony bread, more thick than fluffy, with gold, purple, yellow sugar on top, baked in a ring shape

  4. wjcsydney

    Brian, who gave you the authority to decide what I am giving up for Lent? lol

    maybe i should give up blog reading for lent….

    just kidding.

  5. Don

    I still live in Mardi Gras land… it absolutely is the most suckiest thing on earth. I saw a poll taken (in another State) that suggested Mardi Gras should be a national holiday.

    That would be a big mistake.

    So, from S.E. Louisiana…. glad Mardi Gras is over. Being asinine on Tuesday doesn’t justify ashes on Wednesday. 😉

    BTW: Brian you forgot about the “baby Jesus” and King Cake.

  6. Brian

    yeah, we left out the baby jesus from our cake. that’s a lawsuit waiting to happen, putting a little plastic toy inside a cake.

  7. Brian

    i think i mentioned lint for lent last year.
    it’s the Super Fat Tuesday link under “possibly related posts”

Leave a Reply

