What is Your Favorite Cover Song?

I have been thinking about cover songs lately.  Songs that were released and recognized by one singer/group and later redone by someone else just as good or maybe better.

After you add your suggestions, maybe I will create a poll. Here is my list:

  • Alien Ant Farm’s version of Smooth Criminal by Michael Jackson
  • Jimi Hendrix’s version of All Along the Watch Tower by Dylan
  • Johnny Cash’s version of Hurt by Trent Reznor (NIN)
  • Aerosmith’s version of Come Together by the Beatles

I am sure there are many more, especially from other genre.   So, what is your favorite?

And TREY, you cannot suggest The Hoff’s version of “Hooked on a Feelin’!!!”

23 thoughts on “What is Your Favorite Cover Song?

  1. Brian

    thanks for participating, tara,
    i love bon jovi and Cohen, but I am not familiar with either version. cool…

  2. Van Halen’s cover of “You Really Got Me.” But The Kinks version is fun, too. Hate to admit it, but for a few years, the VH rendition was the only one I knew.

    Don’t mean to be sacrilegious, forgive me, but roller skating to The Carpenters version of “Please Mr. Postman” was one fine experience.

  3. Garth Brooks singing “To Make you Feel My Love” by Bob Dylan… well, pretty much any Dylan cover (great songwriter, but when he sings… sheesh!)

  4. Brian

    you really got me and beatle’s twist and shout are great.

    i love dylan, i wonder if there is an album of other people’s best covers of dylan songs

  5. Jake from HUF

    Live covering Johnny Cash, “I walk the line”

    Pearl Jam covering Who’s “Baba O’Reilly” (ie the “Teenaged Wasteland” song; heck, they end every concert with it)

    Metallica covering Thin Lizzy / u2 / very, very old Irish Drinking song, “Whiskey in the Jar”

    REM covering U2’s “One” (yeah, i got that on bootleg)

    U2 covering Who’s “Won’t Get Fooled Again” (another bootleg, but pretty widely available and a solid performance)

  6. Brian

    hey!! good to hear from you, one half of the Shake and Jane team. i don’t think I have heard any of those but would love to..

    I probably never told you but when I lived in Rome, my wife and I just happened to run into Shane J near the Metro for the Spanish Steps. that was crazy..

  7. Brian

    I’ve never heard Live cover “I Walk the Line”, but I have a hard time imagining them improving on J Cash.

    I like Metallica’s version of that old Seeger song… what’s the name? Star? Something like that.

  8. out of the choices you listed Hendrix wins with no contest. But Van Halen’s Pretty Woman rocks too. Adam mentioned Twist & Shout which is a classic by the Beatles. And Brian mentioned another that may be better than the original … Metallica on Turn the Page.

  9. You stink. You know the Hoff rocks, you just don’t want to admit it 🙂

    Okay… I vote for Van Halen and Pretty Woman or Dancing in the streets. Everyone has remade that second one.

  10. I have to disagree. The Metallica version of Turn the Page sounds menacing, which is completely wrong. The lyrics and original performance are reflective and somber with a good bit of resignation. The Seger original knows exactly what it’s singing about. The Metallic cover doesn’t have a clue.

  11. Jake from HUF

    Metallica’s “Garage Inc.” is all covers. Queens’ Stone Cold Crazy, Whiskey in the Jar, and Turn the Page, among others. Solid all around. I think it even has “Tuesday’s Gone” by skynyrd.
    VH covering “You really got me” was in a Nissan 300 Z commercial a few years ago. I drove a Nissan 240 then and would crank that CD up all the time.
    Live’s version of “Walk the Line” is worth searching for. A very haunting version of that slowly builds. Almost unrecognizable from the original. Kinda like Clapton’s acoustic version and original versions of “Layla”. Both are great, but completely different.
    Oh, and “Two Rooms” is an entire CD of artists covering Elton John. Sinead O’Connor doing “Sacrifice” is beautiful, Tina Turner “The B*** is Back” and the previously mentioned Who doing “Saturday night” are worthy.
    Yes, I know way too many covers.

  12. Don

    Santana = Black Magic Woman

    Sinead O’Connor = Nothing Compares To You

    Lenny Kravitz = American Woman

  13. brian

    I am listening to the radio ALOT nowadays, some group actually did a rocked-out version of Careless Whisper, not bad.

    recently, I also heard a rocked out version of Genesis’ Land of Confusion.

    Great suggestions everyone. When I get time, I will creat a poll with the top suggestions

  14. I agree with Frank on “Turn The Page.” But then again, I’m a huge Seger fan. Having said that, I do like Metallica’s version.

    My vote would be for “Twist and Shout” by the Beatles.

Leave a Reply

