Cranky Christian Comments

These are just some random, personal thoughts against common and useful things.  I don’t want to abolish these things, but I believe it helps to be critical about the way we do things so that we can improve them. I am not blogging against crankiness this time, but out of the overflow of crankiness.

First of all, why does everyone and his/her dog want to start a 501c3 nonprofit Christian org?  And then raise funds (especially from small churches in the north) and start a website?  Why does it have to be a business?  Whatever happened to just doing good deeds.

It seems no one wants to just serve in humility anymore.  We all want to be known in the brotherhood.  We want to start a business/ministry instead of just doing ministry.  We want to oversee a major organization.  What if we started having more home Bible studies instead of more Christian organizations?

We want everyone to support our ideas (forgetting that local churches have their own needs/plans).  No matter how great my idea is, that doesn’t mean I have to send a letter requesting financial support from every congregation in the book.

Next on my hit list are Bible correspondence courses.

Does anyone have numbers about how many baptisms result from them, and more importantly, how many of those baptisms fall away?  It seems so often that sincere Christians are studying with sincere people, yet those people are not in touch with a local church, maybe have no interest in joining a local church (or leaving their house, for that matter).  Personally, I have seen little results from them.  Maybe it is NE culture.  I baptized one man and never could find him or get in touch with him again.  What exactly was he taught? The “gospel of baptism” maybe?

I was recently given a contact for a lady who wants to be baptized.  I found out that she has a church home, was baptized (maybe too young).   She had no sense of urgency and it is difficult to follow up.  I tried to get together with her to talk about the when and why of baptism, but she had a church event to go to.

I have serious doubts about the effectiveness of Bible Correspondence Courses.  What do they understand? How will they survive without knowing anyone in a local church?  Why are the students so often not interested in attending/visiting a local congregation?

How do you handle following up with contacts from Bible Correspondence courses?

Sincerely,

Grumpy Young Man

(I am out of town and may not be able to moderate comments and respond to your thoughts for a while.  I appreciate your patience.)

6 thoughts on “Cranky Christian Comments

  1. “What exactly was he taught? The “gospel of baptism” maybe?”
    Brian, maybe if you start by explaining, why the following scripture is wrong, you could convince me and others why attending preaching meetings is the way to salvation, and just how important (paid) preachers are to our salvation. And why is it so important that, so called church leaders attend Tulsa, Abilene, and Pepperdine meetings.

    Jer 31:33 But this [shall be] the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel; After those days, saith the LORD, I will put my law in their inward parts, and write it in their hearts; and will be their God, and they shall be my people.
    Jer 31:34 And they shall teach no more every man his neighbour, and every man his brother, saying, Know the LORD: for they shall all know me, from the least of them unto the greatest of them, saith the LORD: for I will forgive their iniquity, and I will remember their sin no more.

    Hbr 8:10 For this [is] the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, saith the Lord; I will put my laws into their mind, and write them in their hearts: and I will be to them a God, and they shall be to me a people:
    Hbr 8:11 And they shall not teach every man his neighbour, and every man his brother, saying, Know the Lord: for all shall know me, from the least to the greatest.

    “And they shall not teach “( if you don’t believe it, just say so)
    Please explain just what part the “Holy Spirit “ plays in the individual life. If we have preachers to guide us through.

  2. Shucks, I thought this was going to be a post complaining about all the negative Christian posts that are out there. Complaining about their own church or other churches or what “lots of other Christians” do. Personally, I think complaints are best dealt with personally, within your own congregation. I don’t think cyberspace is the place for criticizing/correcting other churches or Christians. That’s my cranky complaint. 😉

  3. brian

    laymond, nice job of avoiding all the biblical commands to teach, what to teach, what not to teach. that was some pretty selective quoting. maybe you have a diff canon from me
    also, who said anything about lectures relating to salvation. i am here to study the bible, fellowship, and get refreshed. what’s wrong with that? if you want to live in a cave, go for it!

    sorry, lisa,
    i have heard two great stories that involve bible correspondence course while at Tulsa, so I am not totally against, just wonder how to do it better

  4. I haven’t been involved with Bible correspondence courses myself, though I think perhaps some of my relatives have. In a ladies’ class on Wednesday we got to talking about what older members of the congregation, or others with physical limitations, can do to serve God, and someone commented that they can write — notes of encouragement, cards to the sick, etc. — I wonder if Bible correspondence courses were designed with that in mind.

  5. Brian, it just seemed to me your first, rant was aimed at a friend of mine Bill Williams, and his project to help bring the gospel to the north east. I believe Bill is doing a great thing taking on this difficult project, and I have encouraged every one I can to help, sorry if you don’t like it.
    Then you accuse brothers by this, “It seems no one wants to just serve in humility anymore. We all want to be known in the brotherhood.” and where are you Tulsa, hobnobbing with all those who want to be well known in the brotherhood. acting like a groupie, instead of a disciple.

  6. brian

    laymond, I understand you now, I appreciate bill and numerous Christian organizations and was not attacking anyone personally. I would never suspect that for most people I know.
    My first rant was aimed at institutionalism in general in the church. I have been in involved in, supported, prayed for, etc. numerous well-organized ministries.

    Can’t I be cranky for once? you and Don can’t have all the fun.

    so, you think it is extreme to wait outside Rick Atchley’s hotel room to get a book signed??? and to just touch his hand and to try and swipe walling’s hankerchief??

    thanks for accusing me of stuff, too.

Leave a Reply

