Day 1 Report–Tulsa ISWW

Good Morning. Not sleeping great this Friday morning at the Courtyard Marriot in Tulsa, so I decided to come down to the lobby early and report on yesterday’s action.

I heard Harold Shank first Thursday morning.  He spoke on How God Helps the Broken and mainly went through Isaiah 61.  It was fantastic. I hope he has sermons online.  I only know of him by name but have always wanted to hear him speak.

The second session was none other than John Dobbs.  He spoke about Blogging as an outreach tool.  He is on the second floor of the hotel and I am on the third floor.  He did a great job.  At that session I got to meet, hug, shake hands with numerous bloggers. Royce Ogle is really tall. I shook hands with  Bobby Valentine.  I sat between Brad Palmore and Taylor and Trey Morgan.  Steve Tucker was there and others.  John did a great job.  Had us rolling.

I then heard a brother named Josh, who works with a church plant in Memphis.  He was making a connection between prayer and action.  It was the second session that emphasized Jesus in the synagogue in Nazareth in Luke 4.  He was good.

Had lunch at McAlister’s.  I love McAlister’s and was thrilled to see one here.  I came with two friends: our prison minister and a former member who now lives in NC.  I had the McAlister’s Club and that great big cup of Sweet Tea.

After lunch, I heard Rick Atchley.  Whatever you think of his views, he is a great speaker and sticks to the Bible even if he comes to different conclusions than many.  He talked about our Identity in Christ and one of the first names for the church–“The Way.”  He was really emphasizing discipleship.  His lesson also connected well with Josh’s earlier in the day.  He talked about being a true disciple instead of being just a church goer.  He stated that we can be in the church but not be “in the way.”  He also make a play on words, about how being a Christian involves being in the way in the usual negative sense.  I don’t have my notes in front of me but here are a couple of highlights:

  • If Christianity is just your hobby, it’s a pretty lame hobby.  Take up golf or scrapbooking.
  • How would your life be different if you were not a Christian?
  • We have equated being a Christian with just being nice.
  • He showed a powerful video of an Iranian sister who gave up her family to follow Christ.
  • We think Jesus is kind but we don’t believe he is smart.  We don’t think he knows what it is like to live in USA today.  He then quote some teachings of Jesus such as: “Do not worry” “Don’t lay up treasures on earth” etc. The early church believed he was smart and lived radical lives.  We reject his teachings.

I ran into a few other old friends.  Played my favorite church of Christ game, “Who do you know?” and made lots of connections.

I have successfully avoided all the booths that are selling books and hope to make it til tomorrow then I might look a little.  I can’t wait for another day of Jeff Walling, Patrick Mead, Don McLaughlin and others. Yesterday was a great start. I also hope to eat at McAlister’s again.  Today lunch will be with some of our blogging friends and the Blogger Luncheon is tomorrow. 

There is also snow in the forecast for tonight and tomorrow. Crazy. Doing well, having a blast in the Lord. Wish you were here!

9 thoughts on “Day 1 Report–Tulsa ISWW

  1. It’s always a great thing to be together with other believers, both new friends and old. I hope God continues to bless your time there!

  2. Thanks for the play by play-it is *almost* like being there! 😉 Glad you are having such a great time-hug John and everyone for me-wish I could be there, but SOOOO thankful for this time in Beijing!! It has been absolutely amazing and has far exceeded any expectations. I want to move back NOW!! 🙂

    Blessings in Tulsa from China~

  3. Soooo would love to be there. I’ve been trying to pre-order CD/DVD’s on Tulsa Workshop Web, and have not been successfull. Will try again this morning and will call the number if uncessful today. I appreciate the updates!

Leave a Reply

