A Thought About Grace

Why is it that the way the early church and Apostles preached Grace, people could possibly get the erroneous impression that grace was a license, but the way we preach (or maybe, don’t preach) on grace, people would seldom get that idea??

Are we preaching on Grace better than they did?

Or, are we preaching on Law so much, or in a manner, that people are getting a different kind of wrong impression about grace?

Are we not preaching the same Gospel that they did?

“The law was added so that the trespass might increase. But where sin increased, grace increased all the more, so that, just as sin reigned in death, so also grace might reign through righteousness to bring eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord. What shall we say, then? Shall we go on sinning so that grace may increase? By no means! We died to sin; how can we live in it any longer?”

9 thoughts on “A Thought About Grace

  1. Great post Bro! I think we do not put grace out front as much as we should. I believe that grace will expose sin once it is preached and lived out as Christ has freely given it to us. I would like to hear more on grace from you and see what ya think about it. I wrestle with when is too much or when is it ever not enough when it comes to preaching it. Don’t worry, I want to learn and share, no motives here Bro…we go back too far….umm 1989 I think?..lol..can’t remember for sure….peace…

  2. Eddie Sharp, who used to be pulpit minister at our church, faced a crisis moment early in his ministry. He was preaching through Romans and some of the people began to say, “If what Eddie is saying is true, then people should just keep sinning.” He says that’s when he knew he was preaching it right.

    Grace and peace,
    Tim Archer

  3. Allan

    Hi Brian,

    I’ve been enjoying a lot of your sermons and blog over the past few months. I wish we could catch up face-to-face sometime when we’re both back home.

    It seems to me that most of the Christian or so-called Christian world today lives as if Grace covers virtually any lifestyle one chooses to live. Frankly, I haven’t noticed a large portion of today’s churchgoing population acting as though there are many if any limits on our lifestyles as Christians.

    I would agree that perhaps members of “Church of Christ” congregations may often live by a lot of rules but it often seems to me to be more of a response to the kind of preaching and lifestyles that abound in our society.

    To try and clarify (or further confuse), I’ll say that maybe grace is preached the way it is because we think that preaching it “lighter” give license to many who may be looking for as much freedom as they can get since many do often try to ride the line in all things spiritual.

    I don’t necessarily agree with that but I think it could be a motivating factor for any teacher. I think we often forget that the Apostles taught the Word in a time that was arguably more immoral than our current culture.

  4. wjcsydney

    I was 41 before I understood what grace was.. and wow – it changed my life. Admittedly I had not be in church at all since I was a teenager but my time in church as a child and young teen didn’t expose me to what it the gospel is all about…

  5. texasdia

    Preaching grace in Italy got us called heretics (among other things)…then got us a church willing to forgive one another…then got us a church loving one another…and got a church free to love and serve their God. Grace is a beautiful thing.

  6. Brian

    trent, sorry it took a while to notice your comment.
    it was around 1992 when we started worshipping at Lone Oak, glad to have reconnnected online.

    Allan, great to hear from you! I understand what you are saying. I think we preach too much in response to what others wrongly teach/believe, instead of just preaching the Bible.
    The culture around us–religious and seculur-affects us a lot more than we admit or realize.

  7. Paul Walton

    Grace allows a sinful man to have fellowship with a Holy God. We could not fulfill the law, the law is good, but it only reveals our deficient nature. Grace makes a way where there is no way.

Leave a Reply

