2010?!?! Who Knows!!

Last year I made the mistake of publicly proclaiming my resolutions goals for the year.  You may remember that I planned to learn some guitar and learn some greek.  The practice of Greek lasted a few more months and even helped my study and preaching but I did little with my guitar and am now contemplating whether I hang onto it, or sell it and wait for a better time in life (maybe when my kids go to college).

Anywho.  I don’t plan to be so bold this time around.  In general, I am not big on New Year’s Resolutions because spiritual growth is a day by day thing and long-term goals are a weakness of mine.

But I will share some reading goals.  These are things I have already begun in 2009:

I am currently working on Introverts in the Church:  Finding our Place in an Extroverted Culture by Adam S. McHugh and enjoying it immensely.  Some of McHugh’s content has been on this blog and more will come.

I have also started a little of Tim Archer’s book on the 7 Churches of Asia (Rev 2-3), entitled, Letters from the Lamb.  It is high on my list to finish.

Ironically, I began reading Getting Things Done:  The Art of Stress-Free Productivity by David Allen but haven’t “got it done” yet.

The Book of Basketball by Bill Simmons (Sports Guy at espn.com).  It’s full of great anecdotes, history, and amusing pop culture references.  It’s like having a never ending article by Simmons.

These next books are high on my list to start once I finish one of the others or just get in the mood for a different type of book:

Come to the Table: Revisioning the Lord’s Supper by John Mark Hicks.  I have been thinking about preaching a series on the Supper and have wanted to read this for a long time.

Emotionally Healthy Spirituality by Peter Scazzero.  Just happened upon this online but am excited about it.

Why Johnny Can’t Preach by T. David Gordon.  It’s short and focuses on the need for young preachers to learn how to read (bible texts as opposed to magazines) and write.  He wrote this when he thought he was dying.

And finally some history, Constantine the Great: The Man an His Times by Michael Grant.  I love history.  I love Roman history and church history.  His life was a tipping point, pivotal time in the history of the church, and this book is written by a respected History scholar.

Emotional Intelligence by Daniel Goleman.  This has been around for 10 years and I have been curious.  Hope to finally read it.

7 thoughts on “2010?!?! Who Knows!!

  1. I’m glad your reading our book, but I’m even more excited that you’re going to read “Come To The Table” (don’t tell 21st Century Christian I said that!). That book had a powerful effect on my view of the Lord’s Supper. It also radically changed my view of worship in the Old Testament. Make sure you read it.

    Grace and peace,
    Tim Archer

  2. b

    no one who has ever picked up a guitar has anything to worry about this year or any year…..

    laymond, we should compare lists of Tim’s errors some day

  3. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on “Come To the Table”!! That was one of the most transformative books I have read-it rocked my world & helped my view & participation in communion & I loved it! I highly reccomend it to everyone! I wish everyone really could read it & learn from it-I believe it would completely transform our churches in a positive way, bringing us closer to Him & each other!!

    Happy New Year, Brian!! May you be richly blessed in our Father!!

Leave a Reply

