Happy New Year!

I am expecting 2010 to have ups and downs, highs/lows, some good and some bad for each of us.

The only thing I expect to be consistently good is our Heavenly Father and His Son, Jesus.  Of That I am certain.

I know I will be in Tulsa in March, Camp Manatawny in July, and celebrating 10 years of marriage in November (hopefully in the Poconos).

I know it will be a year of transition and challenge in our church because of long-time leaders/servants/founding members moving away.

I know that my relationship with Jesus in one year is based on what I do today.

I know that Lost will end and whether the final season is great or a letdown, I will be sad to see it go.

In all the economic uncertainty, while abundance is still an idol for many, here is my prayer and blessing for us all:

Keep falsehood and lies far from me;
give me neither poverty nor riches,
but give me only my daily bread.

Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you
and say, ‘Who is the LORD ?’
Or I may become poor and steal,
and so dishonor the name of my God.       (Proverbs 30:8-9)

Have a year!!! Be it good or bad, stay faithful.  Trust in the Lord.  Be content.

11 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. “Have a year!!! Be it good or bad, stay faithful. Trust in the Lord. Be content.”

    Brian, I pray most every night, that the lord will bless me with another day as good or better than today.
    I pray the same for the coming year, for us all.

  2. b

    maybe new year’s is the second most materialistic day after Christmas…

    not directed at you, laymond, your comment just made me wonder how many are focused, wishing, hoping for more physical blessings in 2010 instead of spiritual ones

  3. Brian, do you consider this greedy and materialistic?

    Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name.
    Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven.
    Give us this day our daily bread.
    And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors.
    And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil: For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, for ever. Amen.

  4. Happy new year. The list of tasks and challenges before me and my family this year seems overwhelming. There’s anticipation and anxiety.

    Whatever comes will come. Here’s to hoping and praying for the best.

Leave a Reply

