More Tulsa Workshop Highlights

Of all the great lessons I heard while in Tulsa two stick out.

A lesson on the Prodigal Son and Luke 15 covered all the bases and was beautiful.  It really didn’t tell me new facts that I did not know.  I knew about the woman needing coins for her wedding.  I knew it was shameful for a Father/male to run, therefore exposing his legs.  I had preached the same things but this sermon was just wonderful from beginning to end and helped me to appreciate God’s love for sinners/us.

The other one was not a part of the Workshop program but a Sunday morning sermon. Edward Fudge, who recently finished a commentary on Hebrews, preached on Jesus from Hebrews.  He focused on 4 Psalms that are prominent in Hebrews, each one making a point about Jesus.  It was fantastic.

If Tulsa detractors could listen to these lectures without knowing who the speaker was (and therefore, all they have preached “wrong”, and what their church does or doesn’t do), I think they would be surprised and edified.  Too bad some have written many out of God’s story.

There were many other great lessons.  I enjoyed hearing friends Trey Morgan and John Dobbs speak.  Trey spoke on taking risks for God and John spoke on dealing with grief and helping others.  Both messages were encouraging and practical and solid.

And then there was the fellowship. The first day at lunch I laughed so hard my face hurt.  Amanda Sanders (one of the funniest humans I know) was stalking Randy Harris. Gallagher, Tucker, James Jones, and Trent Tanaro were cracking wise and telling stories about anything and everything.

The following day at lunch was when we had a neat God-moment after laughing and telling stories again.  Gallagher recounts the story well here if you haven’t heard it yet. Jennifer, we do continue to pray for you and your family (in case you read this).

Friday evening, about 40 bloggers and family and friends ate in the same room and got to visit and take pictures.  Maybe next year we will be better organized, but it was still fun.

It was great to see old friends and make new ones.  I was edified by the preaching and relaxed by the laughter.  I was encouraged by the fellowship.  I hope to be back next year.  I hope you can be there, too.

For those who attended, what were your favorite moments?

some blog banquet attendees
9 thoughts on “More Tulsa Workshop Highlights

  1. BEST moment? Amanda’s quest to get a pic with Randy Harris, which you already noted. That was the BEST time right there.

    I never heard Rick Atchley before Tulsa. He rocked.

    Of course, meeting all the different bloggers was great too

  2. Jeanne M.

    I was able to attend Tulsa Workshop many years ago, and it was great. Probably it has improved some, but any time Christians get together for spiritual lifting up, fun and fellowship, it has to be great – and just a little glimpse of heaven. I am sure the singing was outstanding with so many in attendance.

Leave a Reply

