One-Hit-Wonders of the 90s

I was thinking that many of my favorite alternative/rock songs of the 1990s were actually one-hit wonders.  Strange.  Too bad these bands couldn’t re-capture what they had with these songs. I was just going to list them.  How boring!!

So, instead, can you guess the songs from these lyrics??  No Googling.  And Nick can’t play.

Song #1 (Inside-Out by Eve 6)

Want to put my tender, heart in a blender
Watch it spin around to a beautiful oblivion

AND

The tick tock of the clock is painful,

all sane and logical.

I want to tear it off the wall.

I hear words in clips and phrases,

I think sick like ginger ale,

My stomach turns and I exhale.

Song #2 (Cumbersome by Seven Mary Three)

I’d like to believe we could reconcile the past

Resurrect those bridges with an ancient glance

But my old stone face can’t seem to break her down

She remembers bridges and burns them to the ground

Song #3 (If you could only See by Tonic) Come on, I gave you the title!

If you could only see how blue her eyes can be when she says, when she says she loves me

Song #4 (Closing Time by Semisonic)

So gather up your jackets, and move it to the exits – I hope you have found a friend.

Song #5 (Sex and Candy by Marcy’s Playground)

Hangin’ round downtown by myself

And I had too much caffeine

And I was thinkin’ ’bout myself

And then there she was

In platform double suede

Yeah there she was

Like disco lemonade

Song #6 (Runaway Train by Soul Asylum)

Can you help me remember how to smile

Make it somehow all seem worthwhile

How on earth did I get so jaded

Life’s mystery seems so faded

7 thoughts on “One-Hit-Wonders of the 90s

  1. brian

    they are all rock, alternative rock,
    paula, even IF i knew how to do that, the file would prob give away the answer

  2. Dede Rothermel

    I couldnt name any of them… but for the first song I know:

    I would swallow my pride,
    I would choke on the rinds,
    but the lack thereof would leave me empty inside
    I would swallow my doubt
    turn it inside out
    find nothing but faith and -something-
    want to put my tender heart in a blender
    watch it spin around to a beautiful oblivion
    rendezvous -something something something – and im through with you!

    I could hum the dramatic chords that come after the line you gave for #3

    I can sing the 5th one but I wont type the words to the chorus…

    And I have no idea about 2, 4 and 6. Not bad for someone who wasn’t even alive in 1990 😀

  3. Dede Rothermel

    its going wonderfully (but exams are looming in the near future…)

    and I have absolutely no patience so I googled them 🙂

Leave a Reply

