Books I would like to read in 2011

I have already purchased these (some haven’t arrived yet) and hope to get to them this year.  I should have enough time to read what I didn’t finish last year and still get to these but we will see what happens.

I have already started Cahill’s “Desire of the Everlasting Hills” about the world in which Jesus came.  It is a good reference, although he writes from a strictly historical/sociological perspective, he doesn’t attack or mock.  There is much that’s helpful for a NT background study.

Crazy Love by Francis Chan

The Civil War as Theological Crisis by Mark Noll

To Change the World (ridiculously long subtitle) by some guy with three names

How Lucky Can You Be: The story of Coach Don Meyer by Buster Olney (coached men’s B-ball at Lipscomb for 20 years, the book is about his car accident and cancer and how it changed his life)

Life with God by Richard Foster

The Democratization of American Christianity by Nathan Hatch

Surprised by Hope by NT Wright (yeah, I know, everyone else read this 3 years ago)(

The Way of the Heart by Henri Nouwen

What are your reading plans for 2011??  Happy Reading.

8 thoughts on “Books I would like to read in 2011

  1. I hope to order N.T. Wright’s “Jesus and the Victory of God” and “The Resurrection of the Son of God”, volumes 2 and 3 from the “Christian Origins and the Question of God” series. I have read the first volume “The New Testament and the People of God.”

    I also want to read Michael J. Gorman’s “Reading Revelation Responsibly” and Jurgen Moltmann’s “Sun of Righteousness, Arise”

    I suppose I also continue to probe books on Missional Church, Theology, and Living.

  2. brian

    rex, reading rev responsible got my attention, let me know how it is once you get to you.

    hey wade,
    which cahill books are considered in the trilogy?? i loved how the irish saved civilization (which is about Celtic christianity in the middle ages) and The Gift of the Jews (about how the Jewish worldview was drastically diff from ancient world and influenced history)

  3. Hi, Brian. That’s quite a nice list. Be sure to write up a post about one of two of your books at least, okay?

    Just finished Jon Meacham’s “American Gospel” around New Year. Not sure if it counts as 2010 or ’11.

    For the longest time, I’d been meaning to read “Discovering Our Roots” by Allen and Hughes. Read it last week. They cover a lot of ground in a short time. Concise. Well-written. And some of it will “preach.”

    Now I’m starting “Legacy Churches” by Gray and Dumond. Might be a good pick for leaders in congregations that may not last much longer.

    The first half of this year, I’ll focus on early U.S. history, particularly First Amendment issues; a dissertation or two about the Sandemanians; film studies; and history of the Bible in English. Maybe the new biography of John Wyclif

    That’ll keep me busy till May.

  4. Brain,

    What I’m considering the Cahill trilogy is both those you mentioned and “Desire of the Everlasting Hills” which together are referred to as the “Hinges of History” series.

  5. Repenting of Religion by Gregory Boyd. I read through it once. Now I am going back and summarizing the book with study questions. I missed way too much the first time around. The same is true for…

    The Naked Gospel by Andrew Farley.

    The Bible as Improv by Ron Martoia

    Static by Ron Martoia

    The New Testament and the People of God by N.T. Wright

Leave a Reply

