90s Music: Blasphemy?

I like them.  But they are over-rated.  I am talking about the Red Hot Chili Peppers.

Sure, Flea is an all-time bassist.

Yes, they had some good hits, and nice overall collection.

But consider that they really only wrote music for 2-3 songs and just kept changing the lyrics.

And…..their version of “Roller Coaster of Love”?????

I MIGHT turn up the volume and I MIGHT sing along in my car…..but afterward I feel cheap and dirty.

We really need to pretend that song never happened.

Awaiting your rebuttal.

4 thoughts on “90s Music: Blasphemy?

  1. I think maybe it’s time to forgive ourselves for bopping our heads to songs that might not technically have been “good”, but are definitely catchy, and might remind us of our laid-back, younger days before mortgage payments and escrow accounts. Yes, “Rollercoaster of Love” is one of those, and so, unfortunately for me, is “Ice Ice Baby”.

    But now that I’m in my mid-30’s, comfortable with myself at the grocery store in a t-shirt, hand-me-down sweatpants from my husband, and flip-flops with ragged pedicure showing, I’ve also become comfortable with my music choices. I do often love to listen to “old” 90’s songs, primarily because I know most of them by heart and can sign off-key along with them. It doesn’t have anything to do with those songs being better or worse than the songs of today or even of the 1950’s. They just fall into my comfort zone.

    In the 90’s I used to have favorite bands and favorite albums, and would defend those choices to the death, but now I just have songs that I want to listen to at this moment, and songs that I don’t. I’ve found that songs that resonated with me when I was a teenager no longer do, as I’ve outgrown them emotionally. I still have a fond place in my heart for the ones that touched me the most at that time, but they no longer trigger the same angst-filled response.

    So in my opinion, no need for the cold shower after surreptitiously enjoying an embarrassing song; just join the rest of us who no longer care what others think of our musical choices, and rock out to the Spice Girls if you wanna. 😉

  2. Dede

    Blogging from camp??? Rule Breaker :O

    So, I have very little to say about the Red Hot Chili Peppers…

    It was great to see you this week! Too bad its going to be a whole *year* before next Jr. Hg. II week =[. But at least I get to read your blog =].

  3. hey D-Roth,
    i actually scheduled these to post before I even got to camp. didn’t have time while there.
    great to see you, too. keep reading, might even write about camp or serious stuff by next summer

Leave a Reply

