90s Music: 20 Eye Goo Blossoms

(remember back in July when I started a series on 90s music?  Well, it fell apart, but I did write this back then)

There is a sub-genre in the 90s which every period has, but I really like it in this decade. These bands are kinda pop, but not terrible. Better than the one-hit wonders still to be discussed because they had 2-3 memorable songs, maybe a decent second album. But no top albums of the decade or top bands, in my opinion. Maybe top 20 if I were to go that high.

I suppose these bands, which I love, are the equivalent to the Journey/Foreigner/Bad Company bands of the 70s that I often mock.

Everclear

  • Also fits into the TMI dysfunctional childhood genre with “Father of Mine.”
  • “Santa Monica” requires cranking up the volume while in the car, EVERY SINGLE TIME.

Matchbox 20

  • Push: not nice song, but soooo catchy
  • “It’s 3 am I must be listening to this song over and over”

Third Eye Blind

  • Semi-charmed life, as I recall was the bigger hit, but give me Jumper, and even How’s it gonna be

Goo Goo Dolls

  • Acoustic guitar, love ballads.  they did it well

Gin Blossoms

  • I would like to invent a word just for “Hey Jealousy”:  “re-listenability”.  I never tire of it.  Won’t change the channel or hit next on the MP3 player.  It may be the perfect pop song.

Jumper and Hey Jealousy definitely make my top 20 songs for the decade.  I never tire of them.

Throw in Live and Collective Soul, as well.

5 thoughts on “90s Music: 20 Eye Goo Blossoms

  1. Ugh…Gin Blossoms and Goo Goo Dolls…makes me throw up a little in my mouth just thinking about them. I want to go postal whenever I hear “Iris”.

    I usually agree with you on music, Brian, but not today. 🙂

  2. I love the dysfunctional childhood tunes of Everclear. First heard them while working out in a gym and they really resonated with me. Perhaps due to my own dysfunctional background. Love Matchbox 20’s Push. Humorous in a way. I hear Rob Thomas wrote it after a toxic relationship, from the perspective he imagined inside the head of his former lover. Gin Blossoms are great interstate driving music.

  3. brian

    sorry, big sis, but the 70s are the low point of the last 60 years for me and my tastes

    alicia, it’s been nice….just kidding. I do realize that all of Gin Blossoms songs sound alike, but it’s just a really good sound.

    Wade, I confess to being a dysfunctional family music afficionado as well, Pink, Eminem, etc.

  4. tonielizabethstyles

    I think I may just love everything you typed- love, love, love Gin Blossoms, Matchbox 20 and Goo Goo Dolls, and Third Eye Blind- seriously 🙂 I’m a truly obsessed 90’s fan, especially 90’s music. I just started a Youtube Channel and blog dedicated to this stuff: http://www.youtube.com/user/Tonisso90sfresh?feature=mhee I would appreciate any support I could get from fellow 90’s fans. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

