Of Reading and Journals

I recently looked through my journals from college.  I would write fairly often.  I am amazed at how much I read.  I haven’t had as much time for fiction in recent years, but apparently I have already read a lot.  Sadly, I don’t remember hardly anything about these books.

But in 1996 and Winter of 1997 I read all of this and more (some were for a Lit class):

  • A William Faulkner biography by Blotner
  • Lucky Jim by Ames
  • A Member of the Wedding
  • Moll Flanders
  • Jane Eyre
  • Persuasion
  • Hard Times
  • Heart of Darkness
  • A Farewell to Arms
  • Grapes of Wrath
  • Sanctuary (Faulkner)
  • The Mayor of Casterbridge
  • Wuthering Heights
  • Memory of Old Jack (Wendell Berry)
  • The Bear
  • The Great Gatsby
  • Picture of Dorian Gray
  • Pride and Prejudice
  • The Giver
3 thoughts on “Of Reading and Journals

  1. I read a few of those in high school and maybe one or two in college. Didn’t have to take any English in college, but now I look back and wish I had. The Giver – ohhhh. *sigh*

  2. actually, not sure if i ever got Victorian lit, the prof died over winter break. i actually read jane austen on my own. true confession. i did take British novel and that’s why moll flanders is on there

Leave a Reply

