Coffee and Older Adults

I like being around older people. I enjoyed that aspect of being a minister. I enjoyed the brief time I spent doing home health care. I considered focusing on older people for my counseling career, but really want to spend more time with the young, so I may not take the Gerontology course.

While at work, I noticed this and took a picture. it made me sad for the reasons I will share:

IMG-20140806-01006

It’s a smaller size which makes me think of the loneliness of the elderly. Widows and Widowers. Grieving a spouse, missing kids and grandkids. Single-serving instant coffee is kinda depressing.

It’s a “lightweight, EZ open jar” which speaks to the frailty and failing bodies of us when we age.

Our older adults need us. Call, write, hug one today. They are too often lonely and alone.

I remember reading statistics about how few visits nursing homes get. It’s ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

